After Alice, by Gregory Maguire

51+a-Uro0HL._SX333_BO1,204,203,200_
Preview on Amazon Kindle

This book was difficult for me to get into, and it wasn’t really what I was expecting. Only about a third of the book is actually set in Wonderland. The rest of the chapters are back in England, following other characters. The different stories only loosely tie together, and I found I had a hard time caring about any of the characters or stories. It’s not until the last third of the book that you start to get a sense of how all the stories tie together. But there are still gaps and holes.

I found it a rather disappointing retelling of the Alice in Wonderland story. I kept thinking that the end would tie it all together for me and would change my perception of the entire book. But that didn’t really happen. Maybe it’s a book that would benefit from a second read, but I don’t have much desire to ever pick it up again so that will remain a theory untested.

Language: None
Sex: None
Violence: None

You might also likeThe Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, by C.S. LewisThe Ocean at the End of the Lane, by Neil Gaiman; Godmother: The Secret Cinderella Story, by Carolyn Turgeon

Leave a Reply

