A Crown of Swords, by Robert Jordan

51T9xkB17ML._SX288_BO1,204,203,200_
Preview on Amazon Kindle

I have a love/hate relationship with The Wheel of Time series. I first read the first few books when I was a young teenager, and I think that’s probably the age that these books are targeting. I love the epic fantasy genre, and The Wheel of Time series has been the standard of that genre for a long time. So for that alone, I think it’s worth reading if you are into epic fantasy. But there are things I really hate about the series, and after this book in particular, I’m ready to put the series down for awhile, maybe forever.

I think Jordan is great with action sequences, but I think he’s terrible with the more mundane parts of the story. It also really bugs me how insecure all the main characters are. And I don’t think he writes women well, or the man/woman relationship. A Crown of Swords, especially, has the women acting shrewish, stubborn, argumentative, and mostly, as objects for the men.

I actually started this book several months ago, after I had binged the three preceding books in the series. But I had to put it down because it became too tedious for me to slog through. A Crown of Swords is the most political book of the series so far. And, like I said earlier, Jordan isn’t that great when it comes to the mundane part of the stories. I feel like he’s a little too wordy in this book, and he’s in the characters’ heads too much. Like most of the books in the series so far, the beginning is slow and kind of hard to slog through, and by the end of the book, as a woman, I was pretty offended by the portrayal of all the female characters throughout.

I want to finish the series, but only because Brandon Sanderson is the co-author of the last three books in the series, and I think Brandon Sanderson is the best epic fantasy author on the market right now. But I don’t know if I’m going to make it that far.

Language: None
Sex: None (although it is alluded to, perhaps more in this book than in previous books)
Violence: Mild

You may also likeThe Way of Kings, by Brandon Sanderson; Pawn of Prophecy, by David Eddings; The Name of the Wind, by Patrick Rothfuss

2 thoughts on “A Crown of Swords, by Robert Jordan

Leave a Reply

